School Library Association of New South Wales

Skip to content


School Library Association of NSW Inc. is a professional association centred on professional learning, advocacy and research.

A History of the Association

The Association was formed in April, 1964 as the School Library Association of New South Wales (SLANSW) with founding president John Hirst.

The focus was to provide a professional organisation for all people engaged or interested in school libraries. The Association changed its name to the Australian School Library Association (New South Wales) Inc. in 1995.  Its vision was to promote, maintain, and sustain the central role of school libraries and its professional staff in improving student achievement.

Its mission promotes the learning and teaching of young people through inquiry-based constructivist strategies that integrate digital and traditional learning resources.

In November 2011, in an effort to focus attention on the association as a state-wide independent professional body, the association changed its name to School Library Association of New South Wales (SLANSW) Incorporated.

Life Membership

A life membership is bestowed on those members who have demonstrated sustained committment to improving the association and its mission through their  voluntary work for the association.  

Life members include (in alphabetical order):  Jill Ball, Peg Craddock, Roy Crotty, Daphne Hone, Dot Hoy, Margaret Lawther, John H Lee, Bill Sommerville 

Presidents of the Association

John Hirst founded the Association  in 1965.  

From 1965 to 1968, Geoffrey Atkinson, R Hobart, Don Bray, E Murray and J Buckley shared terms as President.  

Between 1971 and 1985, Daphne Clark, Keith Graham, Daphne Hone, Dot Hoy, Jackie Turner, Dianne Piedmont, and Margaret Lawther shared the leadership. 

1986-1988 Peg Craddock led the Association for two terms. 

From 1988-1992 June Wall took on the Presidency, returning again in 1999. 

Jan Radford remained as President throughout the period from 1993-1995, ably followed by Terry Bruce to 1998.

Roy Crotty took over from Terry and remained as President until the end of 2002.

The period 2002-2004 saw Victor Davidson step up to the mark, with Roy returning for one more year in 2006 and Life member Jill Ball also in the seat during 2006. 

June Wall accepted office again in 2006-2008. Mr Crotty returned in 2008, prior to resigning. Ken Brock held the position for the 2010 and 2011 term.

Bill Sommerville lead the association in 2012-13

Michelle Jensen is the current president elected at the 2013 AGM and the 2015 AGM.